Country Risk

Ukraine’s martial law likely to cause further ground cargo disruption on borders to Russia and Moldova

28 November 2018


On 28 November 2018, martial law came into effect in 10 regions of Ukraine until 26 December 2018.

On 26 November, the Ukrainian parliament held an extraordinary session during which it approved the introduction of voyennyi stan ("war footing" in literal translation) for 30 days in 10 regions of the country. President Petro Poroshenko proposed the measures following the naval incident involving Russia in the Kerch Strait on 25 November. Martial law was introduced in the regions bordering Russia (Chernihiv, Sumy, Kharkiv, Luhansk, and Donetsk), the Russian-controlled breakaway Moldovan region of Transdniestria (Odessa and Vinnytsya) and along the shores of the Black Sea and the Sea of Azov (Mykolayiv, Kherson and Zaporizhia).

Want to read more? For analysis on this article and access to all our insight content, please enquire about our subscription options at

(137 of 348 words)