skip to main content

Ukraine conflict: Indo-Pacific countries impose sanctions on Russia

Indo-Pacific countries have imposed sanctions on Russia, intended partly for restricting exports of technologies that could support its military-industrial capabilities. Australia has also pledged to provide Ukraine with lethal military equipment.

The governments of Australia, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, and Taiwan have all announced in recent days either unilateral bans on trade engagement with Russia or intentions to join other sanctions invoked by the United States and the European Union.

The sanctions imposed by the Indo-Pacific countries include prohibitions on the sale of military and dual-use technologies to Russia as well as economic restraints, seizures of assets, and bans on the issuance of travel visas.

Canberra imposed sanctions on some of the principal state-owned military-industrial enterprises operated by both Russia and Belarus, the latter of which has been condemned by Nato as enabling Russia's invasion of Ukraine.

Russian enterprises that have been sanctioned by Australia include: defence industrial holding group Rostec; defence export agency Rosoboronexport, which operates as a subsidiary of Rostec; the Tactical Missiles Corporation; and defence electronics group Kronshtadt.

Belarus enterprises to have been sanctioned by Australia include: Belarus' defence industrial agency, the State Authority for Military Industry; one of Belarus' principal defence technology organisations, Belspetsvneshtechnika; and the Minsk Wheel Tractor Plant, a manufacturer of heavy-wheeled land vehicles.

In addition, Australia has imposed financial sanctions and travel bans on senior Russian government officials including President Vladimir Putin. Canberra said it will co-operate with Nato in providing military equipment to Ukraine.

Looking to read the full article?

Gain unlimited access to Janes news and more...