skip to main content

Australia retires legacy Hornets

Australia has retired the last of its Boeing F/A-18A/B Hornet combat aircraft after more than 35 years of service.

The Department of Defence (DoD) announced the end of ‘legacy' Hornet operations at Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF) Base Williamtown in New South Wales on 29 November.

Australia received the first of 71 Hornets in June 1984, with the type operated throughout its service life by 3, 75, and 77 Squadron, as well as 2 Operational Conversion Unit.

With the retirement of the Hornets, the RAAF front-line combat fleet now comprises Boeing F/A-18F Super Hornet and EA-18G Growlers, as well as Lockheed Martin F-35A Lightning II Joint Strike Fighters.

Looking to read the full article?

Gain unlimited access to Janes news and more...