Country Risk

EU's Western Balkans strategy likely to improve border security, remove administrative delays at borders in region

07 February 2018


On 6 February, the European Commission adopted a strategy for enhanced EU engagement with the Western Balkans.

The Commission outlined that “sustained efforts and irreversible reforms” in strengthening the rule of law, fundamental rights, and governance are required for Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Former Yugoslav Republic (FYR) Macedonia, Montenegro, Kosovo, and Serbia to be considered EU members. The strategy presented six initiatives to include the rule of law, security and migration, socio-economic development, transport and energy connectivity, digital agenda, and reconciliation and good neighbourly relations. The Commission envisages a gradual increase in funding for the region during the next two years.

Want to read more? For analysis on this article and access to all our insight content, please enquire about our subscription options at

(127 of 327 words)