SADC deploys troops to Lesotho

13 December 2017

The South African Development Community (SADC) formally launched its Preventive Mission in Lesotho (SAPMIL) on 2 December.

The SADC said the force has a strength of 269 personnel from Angola, Malawi, Namibia, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. Of these, 207 are troops, 15 intelligence officers, 24 police officers, and 12 civilian experts.

SAPMIL has been deployed for an initial period of six months “to facilitate the establishment of a secure, stable, and peaceful environment conducive for the implementation of SADC decisions, including the holding of multi-stakeholder dialogue, the constitutional, public service, parliamentary, judicial, and security sector reforms, aimed at stabilising the political and security situation of the Kingdom of Lesotho”, the SADC statement said.

Want to read more? For analysis on this article and access to all our insight content, please enquire about our subscription options at

(139 of 176 words)